Jamie Oliver strikes a nerve – TED prize = food education


I am not sure how I found the link to this (I get over 300 emails every day about all kinds of things that direct me to all kinds of different stories, links and websites) but for some reason, this particular video grabbed me and wouldn’t let go. Most of us recognize Jamie Oliver from TV (I think he is the Naken Chef guy). He is kind of the anti-Gordon Ramsey. I always liked his “down-home” charm and the way he carries himself (very approachable) so I was intrigued to see what he could possibly be up to that would win a TED prize.

For those who don’t know, TED stands for Technology, Entertainment, Design. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from those three worlds. Since then its scope has become ever broader. The global TED Conference, held annually in the spring, is the heart of TED (there are other TED conferences held on a regional level). More than a thousand people now attend, the event sells out a year in advance, and the content has expanded to include science, business, the arts and the global issues facing our world. Over four days, 50 speakers each take an 18-minute slot, and there are many shorter pieces of content, including music, performance and comedy. There are no breakout groups. Everyone shares the same experience. It shouldn’t work, but it does. It works because all of knowledge is connected. Every so often it makes sense to emerge from the trenches we dig for a living, and ascend to a 30,000-foot view, where we see, to our astonishment, an intricately interconnected whole.

So back to Jamie Oliver and his “wish”. I think the best way to describe it is to take a moment and listen to Jamie explain it himself. Please, please, please – I implore you to indulge me and listen to this short video. It is filled with information that is absolutely essential to living a healthy life and helping others do the same. I wanted to bring this to your attention because as much as we care about making people look and feel great, ESSpa Kozmetika Organic Skincare can only do so much “exterior” work. Facials, Massages, Manicures, Pedicures, Etc. are all great things that (when properly applied) can help you really be healthier. But if you are constantly filling your insides with pounds of foodstuffs that are not healthy (or in some cases 100% synthetic), then everything that we can do to help you on the outside is being undermined from the inside BY YOU. It just doesn’t make sense so I was enthralled when I saw Jamie’s video and very pleased to hear that he won the 2010 TED prize.

Here is the video of Jamie Oliver’s prize winning presentation:

I have to tell you that beginning around June of 2009, I really was not feeling well AND I was putting on some extra pounds and adding some inches to my waistline. The problem was (and still is) that I LOVE TO EAT, and I have always been able to eat everything and anything I wanted at any time without worrying about gaining any weight (I was a good althelete with a high-metabolism). So beginning that summer, overnight I decided to stop eating red meat and highly processed foods like pizza, pasta, deserts and fried foods. After talking to some knowledgable people, I fine-tuned this new diet to include 100% locally-raised, grass-fed beef and lamb from Pittsburgh area farms, cut out almost all chicken, eat fish and seafood when I am out at restaurants and started making smoothies out of everything I could get my hands on. BTW – the next post I will do will include me making a smoothie because anyone can duplicate my process and it works incredible well.

The result of all of this is that I lost about 20 pounds (I now weigh less than I did when I was 18) am back down to a 33 inch waistline and (most important of all) I feel more energetic and healthier. Added bonus, I don’t eat out as much and I spend a lot less on food (Since I basicaaly am throwing everything into a blender and drinking smoothies everyday).

So, once again in case you missed it, I urge you to watch Jamie Oliver’s TED video and make a promise to yourself to change the way you think about (and eat) the food you are putting in your (and your kids) mouth. We are definately going to start including more of these types of tips and strategies in our Spa Experiences because our mission is much more than just looking better, the mission at ESSpa Kozmetika Organic Skincare is all about BEING better.

Spa You Soon,

Scott Kerschbaumer

ESSpa Kozmetika Organic Skincare

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://esspa.wordpress.com/2010/02/16/jamie-oliver-strikes-a-nerve-ted-prize-food-education/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

